The results for the first-ever Scottish School Food Awards, which took place at a black-tie ceremony on Thursday 27th October at Merchiston Castle School in Edinburgh, have been released.
Fettes College, George Heriot’s School and Gordonstoun triumphed alongside several primary and high schools from Shetland to the Scottish Borders.
The inaugural awards – which marked the culmination of a new drive to recognise, celebrate and improve standards of well-being, sustainability and school meals across the country – aim to showcase and enhance the influence that healthier lifestyles can have on pupil productivity.
In addition to several independent institutions, winners also included New Struan School in Alloa, Cullivoe Primary School at Yell, in Shetland, Kirkhope and Yarrow Primary Schools in the Scottish Borders, and a budding 15-year-old chef from Mackie Academy in Stonehaven.
St Leonards School, in St Andrews, took Highly Commended in two of the four categories in which they were shortlisted, while Alistair MacDonald was named School Chef of the Year at Edinburgh’s Fettes College. Meanwhile, Croy and Barrhead High, both located in East Renfrewshire, picked up Employee of the Year and Foodservice Team of the Year respectively, and Glasgow City Council was rewarded for its partnership with Soil Association Scotland in the Healthy-Living Innovation Award.
In a surprise twist, a “secret” award for Lifetime Excellence was presented to the former head of George Heriot’s School, Lesley Franklin. Announced by presenter Kaye Adams and sponsored by Holroyd Howe Scotland, the award had been approved and voted for exclusively by the Awards Advisory Board. According to organisers, it will now be a regular fixture in the list of categories from 2023 onwards. Nominations of eligible individuals may be submitted by those working in and connected to the education sector in Scotland.
Open to independent and local authority institutions, in addition to nurseries, music schools, early learning centres, contract caterers and foodservice suppliers, the awards are judged by 14 leading experts from across the education, foodservice, technology and business sectors.
Entries for 2023 will open in March and the ceremony will take place in September.  
Click on the Awards Photos tab for photos of the event this year at Merchiston Castle School.
The Scottish School Food Awards 2022, in partnership with Swiss Education Group and Yummy Jobs
The Community Benefits Award, sponsored by Thomas Franks Scotland
– WINNER: Kirkhope and Yarrow Primary Schools, Scottish Borders
HIGHLY COMMENDED: Croy Primary School, Inverness
George Heriot’s, Edinburgh
St Leonards, St Andrews
The Sustainable School of the Year Award, sponsored by 50 Shades Greener
– WINNER: Cullivoe Primary School, Shetland
HIGHLY COMMENDED: St Leonards, St Andrews
George Watson’s, College, Edinburgh
The Well-being in Education Award, sponsored by Inspire Catering 
– WINNER: Gordonstoun, Moray
HIGHLY COMMENDED: St Leonards, St Andrews
Fettes College, Edinburgh
George Heriot’s School, Edinburgh
The Healthy Living Innovation Award, co-sponsored by Auris and Fonetti
– WINNER: Glasgow City Council and Soil Association Scotland
HIGHLY COMMENDED: Gordonstoun, Moray
Fettes College, Edinburgh
George Heriot’s School, Edinburgh
The Foodservice Team of the Year Award, sponsored by Pelican Procurement Services
– WINNER: Barrhead High School, East Renfrewshire
HIGHLY COMMENDED: New Struan School – Scottish Autism, Alloa
The Edinburgh Academy, Edinburgh
St Leonards, Edinburgh
The Student Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by Compass Scotland
– WINNER: Phoebe Lawson, Mackie Academy, Stonehaven
Sophie Pope, Woodfarm High School, East Renfrewshire
Libby Roseveare, Golspie High School, Sutherland
The School Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by Swiss Education Group
– WINNER: Alistair MacDonald, Fettes College, Edinburgh
Mark Sturrock, Stewart’s Melville College, Edinburgh
Roy Winton, Chartwells Independent
The Employee of the Year Award, co-sponsored by Bruce Stevenson Insurance Brokers and Yummy Jobs
– WINNER: Anja Fuglestad, Croy Primary School, Inverness
June Comrie, Barrhead High School
Natalie Willmore, Glenalmond College, Perthshire
The Lifetime Excellence Award, sponsored by Holroyd Howe Scotland
– WINNER: Lesley Franklin, former head of George Heriot’s School, Edinburgh