Organisers Announce New Event Date For The Scottish School Food Awards 2023

Sustainable School George Watson's College

The 2023 Scottish School Food Awards ceremony at George Watson’s College in Edinburgh is being moved to Wednesday 29th November, with entries reopening for a short period from Tuesday 8th August until Friday 8th September.

Organisers have highlighted the issue of the summer holidays interrupting the original judging timetable as the reason for the change of date.

With categories for healthy living initiatives, well-being, innovation, staff and community collaboration, there is an award to suit every school in country.

Entries are free of charge and will close at Midnight on Friday 8th September. The judging process, undertaken by the independent Awards Advisory Board will take place over subsequent weeks, and the shortlist of finalists will be released on Tuesday 31st October. The awards ceremony – a black-tie gastronomic showcase – takes place at George Watson’s College in Edinburgh on Wednesday 29th November 2023.

Nominations can be sent via the online forms or to

Take a look at the categories below and contact, or call 0800 130 3731 with any queries.

Entries close at Midnight on Friday 8th September 2023.

Award 1: The Hospitality Education Award, co-sponsored by Hub International and Independents by Sodexo

Award 2: The Community Benefits Award, sponsored by Thomas Franks Ltd

Award 3: The Scottish Education Well-being Award, sponsored by Inspire Catering Ltd

Award 4: The Healthy-Living Innovation Award, co-sponsored by Fonetti and Kafoodle

Award 5: The Student Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by Compass Scotland

Award 6: The Lifetime Excellence Award, sponsored by Holroyd Howe

Award 7: The Foodservice Team of the Year Award, sponsored by Pelican Procurement Services

Award 8: The Sustainable School of the Year Award, sponsored by Fifty Shades Greener

Award 9: The Scottish School Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by Litmus Partnership

Award 10: The Employee of the Year Award, co-sponsored by Bruce Stevenson Insurance Brokers